Carter Subaru Shoreline Customer Reviews

ReviewsLocalDealerRaterEdmunds.comFacebookGoogle+
17225 Aurora Ave N Seattle WA 98133
715 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us

  • Fri Aug 3 2018
    No Comment
  • Fri Aug 3 2018
    No Comment
  • Thu Aug 2 2018
    Very helpful and courteous.
  • Wed Aug 1 2018
    Friendly and helpful and there are so many dogs.
  • Wed Aug 1 2018
    Always provide excellent customer service. By far the best dealership I have ever been to, and I have dealt with them many times.
  • Tue Jul 31 2018
    Daniel was extremely personable and went above and beyond to ensure we got what we wanted and made the change effortless and smooth. Everyone in the dealership was very nice!
  • Mon Jul 30 2018
    No Comment
  • Mon Jul 30 2018
    Friendly staff
  • Sun Jul 29 2018
    Don't like being treated like I'm not serious because I'm female and I'm a mom and I came in with my husband. Sales person took zero interest in me, didn't even ask for my name. Talked mostly to my husband. Hello... I'm the one who drove in in my SVX... Not my husband. But the salesman probably wouldn't even know what it was. Just because I'm looking at the ascent doesn't mean I'm just some mom who doesn't want to know anything besides how many kids I can fit in the car, or that I don't love driving. And after I test drove it, I said I wanted to drive an sti, and he told me he'd let me drive it if I bought the ascent. What the heck? Do I have to be in some club to drive one of your cars? I just laughed it off and left. He didn't even try to show me anything else I might be interested in, despite me clearly wanting to look at other cars. And the woman who greeted me acted like I was wasting her time by being in the building. Just bad. Not car people at all. We have been Subaru people for a long time. We already have 3 at home. My whole family loves them. I'm personally on my 3rd Subaru now, and I'm building up my SVX for racing. And I know there are so many other people who live Subarus in this area. I can't believe they don't have more enthusiastic salespeople here. Terrible.
  • Sat Jul 21 2018
    No Comment
77 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Local Reviews

  • marcus
    Wed Aug 14 2013
    I had just gotten a job half way across the country and was in need of a car to get me there. We went to N. Seattle to look at a car we saw online and was dismayed to find out we were at a very shady place to say the least. Upon leaving we saw Carter and on a whim decided to see what they had. Trey Gray got me into my first Subaru and I've been loving it ever since. He was pleasant, professional, and not pushy in the least. It was one of the few times that I didn't regret my purchase afterward. We WILL be repeat customers.
  • Anonymous
    Tue Jul 16 2013
    Debbie Phillips at Carter Subaru in Shoreline helped us to lease a car for my mom. She was kind, helpful, not pushy and we left that day with a great car for my mom.
  • Ed Hopwood
    Wed Jul 10 2013
    Warren Hayes was a pleasure to work with, listened attentively, and had the info and answers to my questions at his fingertips. I would search out Warren to buy my next car from. thank you Warren for the best car buying experience I have ever had.
  • Tom Westfall
    Mon Jul 8 2013
    This was the first new car I've ever purchased. I chose Carter Subaru based on input from co-workers. Dan Lambros and Rob Wheeler took excellent care of us and I will definitely return when it comes time to purchase another vehicle. The experience was magnificent. No pressure, no haggling, no time-wasting. A Joe Friday "Just the facts" experience. They went out of their way to inform me on the minute details of the copious amounts information and paperwork required and my available options. They were very patient with my questions. I have yet to ask anything they didn't have an answer to in regards to either cars or paperwork.
  • mark
    Sun Jul 7 2013
    David North was a champ to work with. Helped us with no pressure. Has a vast knowledge of the product and made the experience good overall.
  • Sidney Hoover
    Sat Jul 6 2013
    Warren Haynes is a total pro at car sales. He has over ten years experience, and focuses on giving people options. Warren gives straight answers and has a sense of humor too. Ask for him if you want a no hassle experience.
  • Brian
    Mon Jul 1 2013
    We were very happy working with David North at the Shoreline Carter Subaru. Strongly recommend this dealership as we also visited three other eastside dealers and there is no comparison. Go to Carter Subaru and save some time.
  • Faith
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    Great experience from start to finish. Started with David North, who was amazing we talked/emailed a couple of times before meeting on the lot. I have never enjoyed buying cars and view it as a necessary evil. David answered my questions and we started off where I wanted to, in finance with Dan Lambros. Dan ran the numbers right away. Then I looked at cars, there was never any pressure to buy more than what I wanted or something I didn't need. The whole experience was great.
  • Kyle S
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    Carter Subaru is a great example of what a new car dealership should be. Every staff member I worked with was friendly and professional. Never was I high pressured or made to feel that I was being unreasonable during price negotiations. Rob Wheeler was my salesperson and I recommend requesting to work with him. I know I'll send any business I know of his way. Thanks Rob! Now regarding the car, a BRZ Limited. All I can say is WOW! Nice ride! Subaru hit the mark for the sports car enthusiast.
  • Dorothy J.
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    I love my car and I love how easy and actually fun Debbie Phillips made it for me. I spent about a month thinking, researching online and visiting a few different lots. Each time I came into Carter Shoreline people were warm and friendly, but not overwhelming. I appreciated the way she actively listened to me as I voiced concerns about the cost and features. She showed me respect each time we talked and provided the 'nurturing' to help me comfortably come to my decision. I had many questions and she gave me clear concise information. I bought a limited Impreza and it keeps surprising me with great options. I love the way you can put a photo of your own on the display screen, the radio/music choices are super and the traction is great on my rainy wet hill; I also love how nice and light the doors are as they close. Debbie reminded me that I am her salesperson and to call her anytime if I need help or have questions about my car. So in closing the sales rep. was awesome and the car is just perfect for me. I feel very refreshed to say I bought a new car from a dealer and it was smooth, easy and no pressure what so ever. Thanks again Debbie! and I do love the interior colors. P.S. it was the fastest closing, signing of papers for a sale I have ever experienced. good work Josh.
23 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on DealerRater

  • amkeeney
    Wed Jul 30 2008
    Jon was really friendly and made buying our new car easy and fast. We looked up their inventory online and he brought us the exact car we wanted. The financing and other paperwork took a matter of minutes to complete. They didn't try to sell us stuff we didn't want. I can't think of a way to improve their service. Carter Subaru lives up to its "Hassle Free" slogan.
  • dg0673
    Fri Jul 6 2007
    This was the best experience we have had buying a new car. We highly recommend Joe Spitz.
  • cjmaxi
    Tue Jul 27 2004
    I went in to see if they had a used car in my price range. They had one, but it had not been inspected yet. I drove it and I liked it, so I put $50 down. They got back with me the next day to tell me all the things they found wrong with it, so they couldn't sell it. They promptly mailed me back my $50. I was amazed at their honesty, and they were very nice people.
45 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Edmunds.com

  • davebo
    Fri Aug 17 2012
    I just bought a 2013 Subaru Outback from Carter Subaru (just north of Seattle) and the positive experience was something to share (and I rarely share my opinions publicly). I spent the last 2 months reviewing, researching, and test driving 10 makes of compact SUV’s and interacting with many sales personnel. There have been nice sales people, lazy sales people, impatient sales people, poorly informed sales people, condescending sales people, and then there was Guy at Carter Subaru who was exemplary in patience, knowledge of the vehicle, trying to get the best deal for the client (and he really delivered here), and trying to figure out what is the best fit for the client. For example, this was my second test drive (the first one, just to get a feel for the car, was about a month ago) and this time Guy took me on a real test to show how the car handles under various conditions; up a long hill, down a long hill, accelerating on a curved freeway on-ramp, etc., and the 2013 Outback (4 cylinder) handled very well – clearly on par with more expensive makes. More importantly here, with respect to the sales experience, Guy wanted to know what my expectations and concerns were and tailored the test drive to address each of them; I was very impressed - of the 13, only one other sales rep at the other dealerships showed this level of attention to my concerns and expectations. The business side of my experience, I had to pay for the car, was also very nice and very professional. If you are in the market for a compact SUV, in the greater Seattle area, I strongly recommend checking out Carter Subaru. If you run into Guy, tell him Dave sent you.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • davebo
    Fri Aug 17 2012
    I just bought a 2013 Subaru Outback from Carter Subaru (just north of Seattle) and the positive experience was something to share (and I rarely share my opinions publicly). I spent the last 2 months reviewing, researching, and test driving 10 makes of compact SUV’s and interacting with many sales personnel. There have been nice sales people, lazy sales people, impatient sales people, poorly informed sales people, condescending sales people, and then there was Guy at Carter Subaru who was exemplary in patience, knowledge of the vehicle, trying to get the best deal for the client (and he really delivered here), and trying to figure out what is the best fit for the client. For example, this was my second test drive (the first one, just to get a feel for the car, was about a month ago) and this time Guy took me on a real test to show how the car handles under various conditions; up a long hill, down a long hill, accelerating on a curved freeway on-ramp, etc., and the 2013 Outback (4 cylinder) handled very well – clearly on par with more expensive makes. More importantly here, with respect to the sales experience, Guy wanted to know what my expectations and concerns were and tailored the test drive to address each of them; I was very impressed - of the 13, only one other sales rep at the other dealerships showed this level of attention to my concerns and expectations. The business side of my experience, I had to pay for the car, was also very nice and very professional. If you are in the market for a compact SUV, in the greater Seattle area, I strongly recommend checking out Carter Subaru. If you run into Guy, tell him Dave sent you.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • davebo
    Fri Aug 17 2012
    I just bought a 2013 Subaru Outback from Carter Subaru (just north of Seattle) and the positive experience was something to share (and I rarely share my opinions publicly). I spent the last 2 months reviewing, researching, and test driving 10 makes of compact SUV’s and interacting with many sales personnel. There have been nice sales people, lazy sales people, impatient sales people, poorly informed sales people, condescending sales people, and then there was Guy at Carter Subaru who was exemplary in patience, knowledge of the vehicle, trying to get the best deal for the client (and he really delivered here), and trying to figure out what is the best fit for the client. For example, this was my second test drive (the first one, just to get a feel for the car, was about a month ago) and this time Guy took me on a real test to show how the car handles under various conditions; up a long hill, down a long hill, accelerating on a curved freeway on-ramp, etc., and the 2013 Outback (4 cylinder) handled very well – clearly on par with more expensive makes. More importantly here, with respect to the sales experience, Guy wanted to know what my expectations and concerns were and tailored the test drive to address each of them; I was very impressed - of the 13, only one other sales rep at the other dealerships showed this level of attention to my concerns and expectations. The business side of my experience, I had to pay for the car, was also very nice and very professional. If you are in the market for a compact SUV, in the greater Seattle area, I strongly recommend checking out Carter Subaru. If you run into Guy, tell him Dave sent you.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • shanmcd
    Mon Apr 9 2012
    3 weeks ago I brought home my 2012 Impreza Sport!, love it! This is the 4th Subaru that my husband and I have bought from Joe Spitz in the last 15 years and as always he was fabulous. We Always go to Joe and we refer everyone to him. He is down to earth, tells you what you need and what you don't! Never a stressful situation, always fun and best of all he rocks! He would never steer me wrong. We buy cars based on sales people and mechanics and Joe is our sales guy!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • nancymcm
    Thu Feb 23 2012
    I had not bought a car since 1997 and did not know what I wanted. So, I visited 7 different car dealers looking at all sorts of different makes and models. At the end of this lengthy process, I picked the most comfortable - a Subaru Legacy (all the cars I considered had excellent safety and efficiency ratings). The fact that it had AWD was also key. I chose Carter Subaru over two other Subaru dealers I visited because of Warren Haynes, who was by far the best salesman I met anywhere. Warren showed me the features of Subaru sedans and SUVs and always answered my questions fully. But, best of all, when I test drove a car, he stayed quiet except if asked something. Other sales people had "sales talked" the entire test drives, often leaving me no time to ask my own questions. Unlike some other sales people I met, he also did not contact me constantly to see if I had made up my mind. He never tried to push me into a more expensive car or persuade me that more and more features would meet my needs. Instead, he always suggested ways I could keep my costs down, while still getting the options I wanted. I ended up splurging modestly (but within my budget), thanks to Warren's helpful advice. The price negotiations were amazingly quick and easy, also a big contrast from another dealer whose car I considered seriously. Everyone with whom I dealt at Carter was efficient and helpful. When I picked up my brand new Legacy, Warren went over it carefully with me and even made sure that I got my cell phone hooked up with the Bluetooth connection in the car. I'm sure I would have figured it out eventually, but his help certainly did speed up the process! I cannot say enough good things about my experience with Carter Subaru. And, if you are looking for a helpful rather than pushy sales person, do ask for Warren!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • risat0303
    Mon Jan 23 2012
    I purchased my 2004 Subaru Forester in April 2011 from Carter Subaru, thinking I had found the car of my dreams for the ideal price, and finally from some honest car salesman. Although these men are very sweet, FIND A MECHANIC TO DOUBLE CHECK THEIR INSPECTION FOR THE CAR'S CONDITION. They told me my car was mechanically sound, and that their mechanics had done the "150 point inspection" and found no major issues, and that the issues they had found had been resolved. They did not provide me with any previous owner's records, but assured me that the car had had no major issues in the past, and that their mechanics had confirmed it was a great car in great condition. This was the first time that I had sincerely felt like there were honest, genuine car salesmen that existed, so, I took a chance and, feeling confident in my trust for these men, I purchased the car. After my purchase, I immediately headed for the gas station to fill up and begin my journey home. While at the station, the gas pump was clicking off every few dollars, even though the tank was empty. I thought it was odd, but little did I know this would be an ongoing issue that would cause further problems. It has now been 8 months, and I have been through my turbo cylander blowing up, as well as having to replace the entire gas evaporation system, totaling slightly under $2000, not including labor. These gentleman are kind, sweet, and seem genuine, but they are still car salesman. GET A MECHANIC TO MAKE A COMPLETE INSPECTION BEFORE PURCHASING ANYTHING FROM CARTER SUBARU!!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • lovesuburu
    Sun Nov 6 2011
    I got an amazing associate named Jason Bennet made my time their quick and meaningful. While waiting I had a comfortable time. GAVE ME AN AWESOME DEAL FOR MY 2012 OUTBACK!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • lovesuburu
    Sun Nov 6 2011
    I got an amazing associate named Jason Bennet made my time their quick and meaningful. While waiting I had a comfortable time. GAVE ME AN AWESOME DEAL FOR MY 2012 OUTBACK!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • dsarnov
    Sun Oct 16 2011
    I was in the market for a new car in the $20k price range. After doing my research I decided to go with the 2011 Subaru Legacy 2.5l Base with CVT. I did inquire about pricing trough Edmunds.com and I got reply back from Carter Subaru of Shoreline, WA and couple of other dealers. The sales person who responded to my e-mail first was David North. What I noticed right away was that his e-mail tone was very friendly and he seemed eager to earn my business. Unlike your typical car salesmen, he was not pushy at all. In fact he invited me to test drive the car without even asking me when I plan to buy etc. After discussing with David what I was after, he promised me that he would work hard to give me the best reasonable deal and if I decide to shop around I should let him know and give him a chance to beat any better offer I might find elsewhere. Little did I know that he truly meant this! After few e-mails, I decided to lease a 2012 Legacy 2.5l with CVT, Premium and All Weather package. I told Dave that I have little spare time to close this deal and I prefer if we can make this as fast as possible and as hassle free as possible. David North asked me to fill out online credit up, explained my leasing terms via e-mail and sent me a final offer on the desired car. I sent this offer to other Subaru dealers to ensure that I am getting the best possible deal. The other dealers offered me to match the price, but could not beat David’s offer. Because David North was very patient and easy going throughout the whole process I decided to buy the car through him. He assured me that it would be easy and fast transaction, but I had my doubts based on previous car buying experience. I went to buy the car and this is where the magic happened. Everything was as promised. Most of the paper work was done. The price was exactly as David quoted me and the whole process took little over 1hr to complete. I was simply amazed to see that I did not have to renegotiate anything and there was no catch 22s, nor did the finance manager try to sell me extra packages I did not want. This has been the easiest car buying experience I ever had and I have bought quite a few new cars in the past. If you are in the market for a Subaru car, see David North of Carter Subaru in Shoreline. I assure you if you are honest and reasonable with him he will work hard to get you the best deal around. Your car buying experience will be very pleasant and you will be glad you chose David North to be your sales guy. I highly recommend David North to anyone who is in the market for a new car. A+ experience and very pressure free environment!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • dsarnov
    Sun Oct 16 2011
    I was in the market for a new car in the $20k price range. After doing my research I decided to go with the 2011 Subaru Legacy 2.5l Base with CVT. I did inquire about pricing trough Edmunds.com and I got reply back from Carter Subaru of Shoreline, WA and couple of other dealers. The sales person who responded to my e-mail first was David North. What I noticed right away was that his e-mail tone was very friendly and he seemed eager to earn my business. Unlike your typical car salesmen, he was not pushy at all. In fact he invited me to test drive the car without even asking me when I plan to buy etc. After discussing with David what I was after, he promised me that he would work hard to give me the best reasonable deal and if I decide to shop around I should let him know and give him a chance to beat any better offer I might find elsewhere. Little did I know that he truly meant this! After few e-mails, I decided to lease a 2012 Legacy 2.5l with CVT, Premium and All Weather package. I told Dave that I have little spare time to close this deal and I prefer if we can make this as fast as possible and as hassle free as possible. David North asked me to fill out online credit up, explained my leasing terms via e-mail and sent me a final offer on the desired car. I sent this offer to other Subaru dealers to ensure that I am getting the best possible deal. The other dealers offered me to match the price, but could not beat David’s offer. Because David North was very patient and easy going throughout the whole process I decided to buy the car through him. He assured me that it would be easy and fast transaction, but I had my doubts based on previous car buying experience. I went to buy the car and this is where the magic happened. Everything was as promised. Most of the paper work was done. The price was exactly as David quoted me and the whole process took little over 1hr to complete. I was simply amazed to see that I did not have to renegotiate anything and there was no catch 22s, nor did the finance manager try to sell me extra packages I did not want. This has been the easiest car buying experience I ever had and I have bought quite a few new cars in the past. If you are in the market for a Subaru car, see David North of Carter Subaru in Shoreline. I assure you if you are honest and reasonable with him he will work hard to get you the best deal around. Your car buying experience will be very pleasant and you will be glad you chose David North to be your sales guy. I highly recommend David North to anyone who is in the market for a new car. A+ experience and very pressure free environment!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com Visitor Vehicle Ratings and Reviews are the property of Edmunds.com, and may not be reproduced or distributed without the consent of Edmunds.com. Edmunds® is a trademark of Edmunds.com, Inc. Edmunds.com, Inc. is not affiliated with this website or app.
78 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Facebook

  • Nichole Sargent
    Wed Mar 22 2017
    No Comment
  • Michael Brown
    Mon Mar 13 2017
    No Comment
  • Lex Tan
    Sun Mar 12 2017
    Just bought 2017 Subaru Outback from Carter Subaru couple days ago. Thank you so much to Hass Hojjati our sale rep. for great service and helping us to get the car. He's very nice and showed us the cars on the lot with no pressure to buy and make us comfortable. Answered all the questions with smiling face. I will highly recommend Hass to friends who want to buy new car. Thanks again Hass. 🙂 Lex & Tammy
  • Nathan Norton
    Sat Mar 11 2017
    No Comment
  • Ben ParkerMeyer
    Wed Mar 8 2017
    No Comment
  • Chase Scully
    Wed Mar 8 2017
    No Comment
  • Alexis Valentine
    Wed Feb 15 2017
    Do not recommend ordering anything from their parts department online!!! I ordered a $100 trunk latch almost 6 days ago and have YET to get confirmation it's shipped or tracking. I emailed twice and still have yet to receive a response! Lanny Wasell needs to get his ish together. I want my money back!
  • Alysia Obina
    Wed Jan 25 2017
    Kelly is my go to Service guy. Plus,the service center found a nail in my tire and fixed it for free. Always get treated really well!
  • Sherry Maxx
    Sun Jan 15 2017
    Best car buying experience I have had personally EVER!!! Loved Heather with her extensive professional automotive knowledge and easy efficient and perfect service!! I received so much more than everything I wanted. Carter Subaru is simply the best of the best! Thank you Carter Subaru for such impeccable customer service in every area of the car buying process!!
  • Michael Wilcox
    Sat Dec 17 2016
    Joe Spitz was a pleasure to work with! Super knowledable about the 2017 Impreza WRX STi that I purchased. He made the whole interaction easy and seamless. Along with the help of Desmond Lianos in financing I was blown away with the great customer service and the awesome car!! I will be recommending Carter Subaru to any and all family members and friends in need of a new car. Thanks again Carter Subaru team!
492 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Google Places

  • Frank Kalinowski
    Thu Aug 2 2018
    Very helpful and courteous.
  • Kristina Ma'autseshat Morgan
    Wed Aug 1 2018
    Friendly and helpful and there are so many dogs.
  • Shawn Pedersen
    Wed Aug 1 2018
    Always provide excellent customer service. By far the best dealership I have ever been to, and I have dealt with them many times.
  • James H
    Mon Jul 30 2018
    No Comment
  • WBL Services 4
    Mon Jul 30 2018
    Friendly staff
  • Broken Thunder
    Sat Jul 21 2018
    No Comment
  • Patrick Evans
    Sat Jul 21 2018
    Great dealership. Great people and fast service, check in. Highly recommend it.
  • Mike S
    Fri Jul 20 2018
    Girlfriend just bought her 6th Subaru Outback from these people. The previous 5 were from another dealership that clearly did not want to retain her as a great repeat customer.
  • Amy Denton
    Fri Jul 20 2018
    SO EASY!!! Easy to make an appointment. Effortlessly efficient, through, and so friendly! They also have a very comfortable waiting area, not that I was there long! Fantastic all around!
  • Alex Benn
    Thu Jul 19 2018
    This is the best subaru dealership around! Ive been to ballard subaru, tacoma subaru, and carter subaru in shoreline. Carter subaru in shoreline is the best! And jp in the service department is an awesome guy and very helpful. Thanks jp!